Didn't see this one coming....!

I'm a newbie, but been reading for months and getting to grips with the abbreviations, but now I feel i need to post.

I am the OW of a 8 year more off that on EA. Recently became PA in last 6 months.

I have always been aware that I would never be anything more than the OW, and I accepted that. Things have been going as good as they can be, but I've had a massive shock today when MM contacted me and told me that it looked like that him and W were splitting up.

He did say that it wasn't anything to do with me and him, but I still can't help feeling terribly responsible and I feel gutted. It was always an agreement between us that he would not be leaving his W.

On top of all this, he is obviously very upset/depressed/fed up and i can't do a thing to help and I feel so useless. I did tell him that I would back off and leave him to it, but he asked me to keep in touch. I don't know the current situation with our PA as it's just not the right time to even broach the subject!

I just wondered if anyone had ever experienced something similar and could pass on any advice?

Thanks in advance

You take control and go no contact with him. Even if he says he 'needs' you, don't get involved in his split up. Seems more than likely he is scared to be alone and wants companionship during his separation/divorce.

I take it his wife found out about the affair?

Nah she realized what a loser he was and dumped him.

No offense to BlueBayou but as an OW you always look at the affair with rose colored glasses. Take it from someone who is currently an xOW.

• Author

I am not aware that the affair has been discovered. I am 99% sure it has not.

I thank you for your suggestions which I think are very helpful :)

You take control and go no contact with him. Even if he says he 'needs' you, don't get involved in his split up. Seems more than likely he is scared to be alone and wants companionship during his separation/divorce.