Is a one-night stand even cheating?

Lighteninginmyheart

Lighteninginmyheart

I'm very new to this. While on a trip home to visit friends and family, on Monday, my husband had a one-night stand with a couple he knows from long before we met. He told me about it Tuesday morning. I know he had other flings with this couple before we met and he always assured me that it wasn't so pleasurable, just a stupid drunken thing he had done when he was younger.

I have really mixed feelings about the whole thing. I am heartbroken but don't feel like I have the right to the heartbreak that other betrayed spouses have because it was one stupid drunken night with no emotional connection and he confessed at the first possible moment.

I'm still angry and hurt and sick and everything else but I wonder if my feelings are valid. And whether we can get to the other side of this faster than it takes tho get through the fallout of a real affair. Oddly, I still trust him much more than makes sense. He had scheduled drinks with his ex on Tuesday and offered to cancel but I didn't hesitate to say it's okay.

Maybe that's denial or maybe the trust is less broken because of the circumstances. I'm just really confused. Does anyone else have experience with "barely" cheating?

Edited by a LoveShack.org Moderator
Paragraphs

I'd say one drunken kiss isn't cheating but full on sex after taking marital vows about forsaking all others . . .yeah absolutely cheating.

However if you are OK with forgiving him, that's your business.

• Like 1

It's cheating, and you have every right to be upset and impose consequences. However, I do believe there are degrees of seriousness when it comes to cheating. A one-time thing that is unplanned/spontaneous, probably under the influence of alcohol, is very different than something that is planned over time, and anything that is a second or subsequent repeat is clearly an intentional choice, and IMO is a much more serious transgression.