After 5 years, he tells the truth...

onehalfmunky

onehalfmunky

My husband and I married April 2008. I am(and still to this day) a great step mom to his daughter (4 at time we married) from a previous marriage. We had a son 4 days shy of 2011. I was unhappy in my previous profession as a manager at the age of 24/25/26, but knew I had to work to make ends meet. I have a college degree and made more $ than my husband. In 2010, he had been honorably discharged from the Army due to a prior back and rib injury he sustained in 2004 while training for his 1st tour of duty in Iraq. He was required to repay the enlistment bonus he received just 2 years before, so our 2010 tax return of $6000 disappeared.

I was distraught the extra cash we were counting on was not coming back to us, but glad his military debt was much less. I think he took it more personally than he should have and got very down about his role in our relationship. He told me he felt like he wasn't good enough for me.

Fast forwarding to later in 2011, my husband had met a woman about 4 years younger than me at his work. Apparently they grew to become great friends. My husband had always told me he wanted to grow old with me and I was perfect for him, so female friends of his I did not see as a threat.

Our relationship began to go downhill late summer of 2011. He was constantly irritating me and pushed all of my buttons to make me mad at him. I worked 40+ hr/wk while caring for our two kids. His work hours were complete opposite of mine so I hardly saw him at night, or so I thought...

By Thanksgiving, my husband told me he knew I was unhappy (I just felt overwhelmed with life), that he thought we should separate. I spent the 2011 holidays in a blur. I had already reached out to my ex-boyfriend from college via text to see how his life was going.