Wife cheated on me with a day old senior.

erldeckle

I was a track and football coach and after the birth of my first child my wife experienced post partium depression... to help I had her come out and help me coach my Varsity track team... big mistake... a day after one of my athletes graduated from High School... He came into visit my wife... apparently they had been flirting towards the end of the track season. Well to make a long story short she left school in the middle of the day during a break and drove in town to a vacant rental I had and proceeded to have sex with him... Boy she made that high school kids dream... coaches hot wife, teacher... etc... my wife was 27/28 at the time and he was 17-18. Hear is the thing... We have 3 beautiful children together under the age of 5 almost 6... I do love her very much and our therapist has classified this as a one night stand kind of affair. I always thought I would be gone if ever cheated on... but now I am very confused... I also made her give me a play by play details of the encounter which really hurts but at least keeps my mind to what actually happened. I know that dealing with any infedelity the easiest choice is leave. My question is does it get any better? The pain from the affair? Whether I am with her or not it is going to hurt and every time I see my kids etc... There is still love... but the pain... I feel like the guy from Brave-heart when he found out he was betrayed... Her action is so out of character... at least I think? we have been together 12 years... I would like to stay and try to work through it... I know I am crazy... but what tips can you offer to help with the pain? Thanks BTW I just found out about the affair which took place four years ago.

Welcome to LS!

If you just found about it, the pain you feel is very normal.

It can take anywhere's from 2 to 5 years to overcome a spouse's affair!