LoveShack.org Community Forums

Reload this Page LoveShack.org Community Forums > Romantic > Marriage & Life Partnerships

Fiancee's mom wants to move in

Marriage & Life Partnerships Debunking the old-ball-and-chain stereotype one couple at a time.

Like Tree48Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 8th March 2018, 7:50 PM   #1

Fiancee's mom wants to move in

I just don’t get why my fiancee want her mom to live with us after our wedding. She and I have been staying in our apartment for about two years now. So far, we’ve established a good routine and chemistry inside the house. If we add in her mom to the mix, I’m afraid she might shake this balance. It kind of pieces me off how of all time my fiancee wants her to move in, she chose after the wedding. Isn’t that supposed to be our honeymoon period? How do I tell her that I don’t want her mom with us? At least not after our first year.

You see her family’s used to this kind of thing since they’re kind of a tight family. Her mom’s from Cebu who met her dad in some asian date tour. Her parents got married and lived here in Chicago since then. Two of her mom’s siblings migrated here too and lived with them for a while. Basically, living with extended family members is a walk in the park for her. But it’s not for me. I need help to survive this fiasco. Someone save me.
hrjackson30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2018, 8:11 PM   #2
Established Member

Well.... first, this is something you two are going to have to get on the same page on - and come up with a long term plan before you consider getting married.

This is the kind of stuff that makes or breaks marriages. Sounds like she envisions, and is used to a life style you do not want - that is a fundamental incompatibility.

I know someone who went through something similar. After two years of marriage, her husband insisted that he move his mother from India to come live with them.