I'm worthless and have let everyone down

To cut a long story short: I used to have self respect and hope for the future. Now I'm just my husband's maid.

I have a PhD and for a while I had a professional research job, until about six years ago when the economy tanked during the recession. Since then I've found it impossible to get a proper job.

I've applied for god knows how many professional jobs, without success. Reasons for rejection have included being too academic and over-qualified, not fitting into a team because I'm over-qualified and introverted, and making people feel uncomfortable because of being shy and nervous. It's never anything to do with my ability to actually do the job. In the meantime I've done number of dead-end jobs where I was underpaid and undervalued, and I've cried literally every day because I feel worthless. There's no doubt that I'm severely depressed. I've started having panic attacks and I hate being around people because I feel worthless in comparison.

My husband is fortunate to have a good job. I'm grateful for him supporting me but my self-esteem is at rock bottom because he basically treats me like his maid. I appreciate that he works a lot of hours, and since my last crappy job ended a couple of months ago I haven't worked at all. I understand that I need to contribute in some way. But I'm depressed because I appear to have been cast in the supporting role of The Maid while he achieves success in his career.