Husband will not stop going out to the bars

melstar1979

Hello~

I am new to all of this, and I am purely doing this out of complete desperation. I have been faithfully married and devoted to my husband for 19 years. He is 45 years old. We have an 11 year old daughter. For about the last year my husband has been going out 4-5 nights a week. This has been a real problem for our marriage because no matter what approach I take he will not stop this behavior. In peaceful times he has even admitted that he knows he is going out a ridiculous amount and that he will stop when he sees me making an effort.

What he is saying by me making an effort is by me losing weight. This is far too hard to explain and most people do not understand, but ever since I have met my husband the way I look is a huge importance for him. Over the last year I have gained some weight, and it has been a burden. I know many people who read this will say he is shallow and should love me regardless, and I understand your views but please understand mine, I knew my husband was like this and what a huge priority is was to his happiness when I married him, so in all honesty my weight is not a new issue, it is something I signed on to and agreed to since I have known him, so I am not making excuses for him but I am being open-minded to what he is saying.

He is saying he has been very unhappy with me because I have not lost the weight and I have not shown that I care about him by not doing anything about it. So this is his excuse for going out to the bars and staying out until 2, 3, 4 am. He has told me that once he sees progress in my weight loss he will stop his out of control going out. We will do things together and be happier together. This conversation happened about 3 months ago.