My Mexican husband treats me like crap... What should I do?

almostANangel

My Mexican husband treats me like I am less than him. I am from the US and don't know if is a cultural thing or what. He orders me like a maid, he calls me a whore, he tells me I'm stupid.

Before we were married, he was the sweetest, most sensitive guy that I had ever met (that was straight). He used to tell me how much more he would love me when we had kids. Now we have a son and he is so much more mean to me.

I have completely changed my life around to make him happy. I no longer use drugs, I no longer have friends (because he gets jealous), I no longer paint (because he thinks it is stupid). I spend all day taking care of our son, cleaning house, cooking dinner and lunch for my husband. I only cook Mexican food, because he doesn't like anything else. I studied a book about Spanish, and am now fluent.

I just want to know how I can make him treat me better. I feel like the more effort I make to make him happy, the worse he treats me. I really would like to raise my son in a united family situation, but I also want him to learn to respect women. What should I do?

I'd say leave this guy, but I don't think it's the kind of advice you wished to hear. But *please* consider this option if nothing else will work.

I just want to know how I can make him treat me better. I feel like the more effort I make to make him happy, the worse he treats me. I really would like to raise my son in a united family situation, but I also want him to learn to respect women. What should I do?

Only way that could perhaps work is stop allowing him to treat you badly.

Stop putting effort into making him happy. Stop caring about *how* he is feeling, concentrate on how *you*are feeling. Stop trying to please him, making his life happy: concentrate on yourself, on your life. Try to make yourself happy.

You didn't mention if you are currently living in the US or in Mexico.