He's Divorced & doesn't want to get married again, But I want to be Married

Ok, So here is my situation. I have been with my bf for about 17 months now. He is 39, recently divorced (2 yrs ago papers were final, although they stopped 3 yrs ago) has 2 kids that are 5 and 7. We started living together when we hit our 10 month mark, and i'm a step mom to his kids that I help him raise every other day and every other weekend when we have them. He is an eye doctor, and I have been running one of his offices for about 6 months now. I handle everything regarding mine and his bills. I'm 24, I have no children, I was engaged once but broke it off as things weren't as they seemed and I have never been married. I was raised Christian, but am not a constant member of the faith. I have always wanted to be married and spend the rest of my life with someone, and Throughout all of my long relationships (2 yrs, 3 yrs, 3yrs) I haven't found that solid relationship I want in order to take the next step of marriage until now. Unfortunately, my bf has no faith, and never wanted to get married in the first place. His ex and him were married for 10 horrible years he says. I know the ex as I try to deal with her regarding the kids daily so I know what a horrible person she is and can only imagine how she was to him. After everything; he has told me that he doesn't want to get married again, he tells me loves me more than anyone he ever has, and I feel the same about him. He has even told me that he would buy me a ring to say he promises to love me forever. I'm not in a hurry to get married, I just want to be able to marry him. And everytime this topic comes up, it always ends in him not wanting to be married, then he feels bad for thinking this way because it is crushing my dreams at marriage, and then he says but with time he could change his mind. I know I don't want to be someone that says I have been with my boyfriend for 14 yrs. I love him more than anything and would do almost anythi