New here...am I being unreasonable?

Hello All! This is my first time posting here, I just found these forums today. I have been dealing with an issue with my husband and would like to know if I am being fair in this situation...

My inlaws are last minute planners, no doubt about it. And that frustrates me to NO end. Needless to say it seems as though my husband expects us to change or cancel our existing plans to accommodate them at the last minute. His reasoning is that they are his family and he loves them and we already know they are not the planning type. I feel that is enabling them. I cannot tell you how many times we have left a weekend open, or turned down other opportunities, because they *might* be doing something, only for them to back out. I understand that family is important, so I have found some ways that allow their flexibility and my desire to have plans set to be accommodated.

This upcoming weekend is our Alma Matters Homecoming. We have some friends that we haven't seen in a few months coming into town, and made plans to go to dinner and have them over to our place on Saturday night. We also had plans to go to the festivities on Friday night for just a bit as well.

My husband told me last week that his family would be having a birthday party for 3 of his younger siblings this coming Thursday.

Now they may be changing their minds about this birthday party and are considering having it Friday or Saturday, and my husband says that family should come first. Like I said earlier, I understand this sentiment, but I feel that we should let them know that we have plans, and will attend the "party" as well, but may be a little late, may have to leave a little early, etc. I do not see these events as being mutually exclusive. What IS upsetting is him indicating that we should cancel our plans according to whatever they nonchalantly decide.