Having a life-crisis. ??

My boyfriend and I have been in a long term relationship for 3 years, we live about a 5 hour drive apart. We have a great relationship and we want to be together. I am at university in my home town and he has a good, well-paid job where he lives. I am a little older than him and I am really struggling watching everyone around me settle down, get married, have kids, etc etc.

It in fact is making me miserable and maybe even depressed. We want to live together but logistically it isn't possible until I finish uni in 2 years time...

I also have family members that aren't well, which would lay heavily on my conscience if I were to move away. I really am stuck with what to do, I hate living at home (which I am now) but I cannot afford to move out whilst I am studying. At the age of 28 I am really feeling low as I feel my life is not progressing and I am still living at home with no real life of my own.

I really need some advice to help me through this as I feel very isolated and confused about what to do. Please help!

heartwhole2

Hi Ella,

Is he willing to move where you are in school? Or is the plan for you to move where he is in two years' time?

Can you accelerate your course of study to finish sooner? Can you transfer to a school near him?

I have health problems myself, but I would never expect a family member to change their lives to take care of me. If they were my primary caregiver, I would move where they needed to go. Would these family members make you feel guilty because they have their own issues? Or would you simply feel bad leaving them when they might actually be happy for you?