not sure what this relationship is

Hi wise ones,

I'm 39. About two years ago, I met a man and we dated for a few months. We got along really well even though we come from very different backgrounds (culturally and educationally).

Anyhow, I graduated and moved countries to take up a job. Since then we've kept in touch. Because of my career I find myself moving countries (twice in two years) and it can be socially isolating. He's been there for me.. online. I find myself wishing that we were co-located coz it seems like we really are a good match, but the psychological (fear of flying)+ financial barrier prevents him from coming to visit me. I cannot just move to his country due to work visa issues. I can visit ofcourse but for me too its been difficult as a cross-Atlantic flight isnt cheap and I havent had enough leave days. I will vist this year fr sure but a visit for 2-3 days does not make a relationship.

So my question is, are we both doing ourselves a disservice by continuing to stay in touch? Neither of us have dated in the last 1.5 years. I mean we've both gone on one-off dates but nothing has happened from those, i.e. we havent met anyone to sustain even a short term relationship. I find myself wondering if staying in touch is preventing us from looking harder for potential partners. I dont see myself getting a job in his country so it doesnt seem like we will ever actually be co-located, so its a lost cause. I just wondered if its necessary to sever the connection? At the moment, that seems too painful. I mean this is gonna end.. I just don't know how and does it need to be ended forcefully.. for our own good? If I could just think of him as a good friend then this question would not even arise and we could just be friends forever, but I find myself longing to see him (romantically) or meet someone like him...

Thoughts...?

Edited by Sonia3
ExpatInItaly