The one that might get away.

Hey guys.

This is my first time doing something like this. Please bear with me..

It all started about 3 1/2 month ago. I am 24 and currently abroad for my Working Holiday. Anyway, since im very keen to learn a new language i signed up on a website where i can meet people locally to exchange languages. I got to meet this guy. We exchanged numbers and started texting. We realized that we had this connection, so we decided to meet up for dinner.

It was perfect. We had great food, great conversation and everything just clicked. After a great night, he walked me home and we kissed..

But heres the twist. He was living here for about 3 years. Since he wasn't a permanent resident i wondered how he was able to stay and work here that long. I got to know that his ex girlfriend of 4 years, was a local so he stayed and worked here on a partner visa... But she broke up with him. So after leaving his country to move here for her just to then get dumped in the end is like a punch in the face. I felt bad for him.

Anyway, after that we talked about it, and i saw how difficult things are for him. He had to figure out what he wants to do and where again. Things are harder since he's 31.. And since the partner visa wasn't valid anymore he had to fly back to his country. All that made him miserable. I wanted to be as supportive as possible. I tried to help him. He was grateful to have me to talk to. After all that we kinda grew closer, to a point where we had feelings for each other. But since he had to leave the country he wasn't sure about us. He likes me, but he wanted to figure things out, and with me around it made that more difficult. Also he was never keen of long distance.. So i told him that we dont have to put a label on us, and that he can do whatever he needs to do, knowing that im still there to support him.