Back at LDR and need to vent a little

awesomeblondie

Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting, but I really need to vent a little.

Backstory:

My husband and I have been together since we were 16 years old, got married at 19. Somehow our relationship was always long distance. We met in high school in California, and a few months after we started dating he moved with his family to a Nevada. We were able to stay together and after he turned 18 he moved back to Cali with me, but also joined the military. Just a few months after we got married, he was deployed. We dealt with changes after he came back, and of course more physical distance due to trainings and stuff. There were ups and downs, but we pulled through. Then after his contract ended, he was back with me full-time. Weird thing though - we lived in a "garage turned into an apartment" in my parents back yard so we always had a bunch of people around us. Eventually I graduated with my BA and we moved to upstate New York so I could go to get a PhD.

Now fast forward to today...

We have been together for almost 13 years now. We have been living as not long distance, and just me and him in NY for a year now. I was so nervous for the change going from a constant LDR to just us, but it worked amazingly, so much better than I had expected!

BUT he recently signed a new military contract and is stationed a few states over. He has my absolute full support in this, and I'm am so happy for him since he's been looking forward to it for so long! We are both very ambitious and the reason we fit so well is because we support each others' career ambitions. The reason I couldn't go with him is that I'm still in grad school and have another 4 years.