He won’t commit

Heartbroken07

I recently graduated college and started ‘talking’ to a guy my last few weeks there. The problem is, he still has a year left. He also lives across the country from me (he’s out of state). Right now it’s summer break so we’re still talking but he’s in California and I’m in Virginia. He says he wants to commit once he gets back to VA for school but refuses to/or is too scared to commit now as it’s long distance. It would still be long distance in VA bc I live 3 hours away from our school but it would be easier than never seeing each other bc we’re across the country. I’m slightly depressed right now due to the fact that I graduated and have to go to work every day and don’t have purpose. Not feeling secure in a relationship has been a struggle for me. I really want to be with him as he’s perfect for me but I’m not sure it will work. Need advice! Should I wait until he’s back in August for him to commit or break it off altogether?

ExpatInItaly

I would leave it for now, and not reach out over the summer. Take some space to process your disappointment. I would be hesitant to commit even after August, because what will happen when he graduates? Unless you two stay in the same area, you will likely be faced with the same problem come next summer as well.

He did the right thing being honest that he doesn't want to commit, hard as it was to hear.

hippychick3

So, you haven't even met yet and just started talking recently?

You're basically strangers until you meet.

Of course he shouldn't commit to you. No one should commit to anyone before meeting, dating IN PERSON, and getting to know each other IN PERSON over an extended period of time.

Please save yourself the heartbreak and find someone local who you can actually get to know in person.

• Like 1