Prom Idea for Long Distance Relationship? Yay or nay?

Hey,

I've been in a long distance relationship with my girlfriend for over a year and a half now. She's a junior in high school and I'm a freshman in college (I moved away for college and she's finishing out high school). Anyway, Prom is a obviously a huge deal for girls and yadda yadda yadda. So her Junior Prom is coming up, and she says she isn't going because she doesn't want to go with anyone but me, and I can't make it this year because her prom falls on the week of my finals and stuff. I told her over and over again that she could go with someone else and whatever and that she should go just to have a good time and she shouldnt let me hold her back, blah blah blah. but she wont listen, and I feel like I'm holding her back, and I don't want her to miss out on the experience. So I was kind of thinking of doing something pretty cheesey, but I just want some feedback before I do it.

So, the big deal with prom is "when the guy asks the girl in a cute way". So would it be crazy cheesey if I like took a picture of me holding a little note that says something like:

"Distance is kind of a bitch sometimes, ey? But tbh, I don't need need a limo,or flowers, sparkles, or dimaonds.In fact, I don't even need glamorous hair, or fancy clothes.That **** is overrated. I don't need music,

or a reason to dance.What I do need...Is You. Because every day that I get to spend with you, Whether it be right next to you,Or 1,013 miles apart, Is just as "magical" as Prom Night. And I would take a forever filled with prom nights, Over just one...anyday. So, I know distance is a bitch,

And I know this is cheesy, But will you be my "Prom date"?"