New at this: harmless nerves or red flags?

Hello, I'm just beginning an LDR, and I am wondering if what I'm feeling is normal.

We are going to be together this weekend, a month after we first met while he was here for work. Since then we've been getting to know each other through hours and hours on the phone. But the past 2 days, now that he is almost here, it seems different. At first I felt like the reality of him actually being here was nerve wracking because I'm afraid he's built me up in his mind to something I might not match up to. And then last night he started talking about how we both should realize this is never going to go anywhere. It wasn't that harsh, it was in with him saying he was interested to see what will happen with us and you never know what the future may bring, but of course he had to throw that in there and of course I was thinking it, but I felt like it threw a bucket of water on my head in a way. Like, why should I even be starting something that's just going to not go anywhere because it would be extremely difficult to ever make our lives mesh?

And now I feel like HE is less excited to see ME and that makes me really insecure. Is this normal? I am hoping that once he's here and we are actually together that it's going to be great and this will just end up being nerves over something that is really new to me. But I just have this sinking feeling like one day he made me feel like a potential girlfriend and the next made me feel like someone he's just looking forward to hooking up with while he's here on business every few weeks.

• Like 1
roaminghart11

It can be very scary to have that first meeting after you have really gotten to know each other, there are a lot of emotions going on. Sounds like he doesn't want to put too much pressure on this weekend. Good luck :)

• Like 1
  • Author