Is this common?

2nd2therite

I'm no novice to relationships, have been married and spouse was killed in accident and I've longed to find someone to love for so long and had all but, given up when I met someone through a friend who lintroduced us to each other over the phone. After many phone conversations, texts and IM's, I realized my friend was right, we are totally compatible, what some call soulmates, something I've hoped to find my entire life and my friend wasn't surprised by this, telling me she'd always known we'd be perfect together.

While this has been entirely long distance (few hundred miles) and we've only begun the relationship a few months ago; we have everything in common and our goals and desires are the same. All was well until I announced that I was making a trip to visit next week after much begging and prodding from my 'soulmate' to make the journey to meet in person.

After that announcement, which was two days ago, I have heard nothing, no phone call, no text, no IM, nothing and I receive no reply when I send texts and phone calls go to voicemail. I'm not stupid, I'm absolutely being ignored. Problem is, I haven't a clue as to why.

Has anyone else experienced this sudden change in behavior with someone who's been begging to meet their ldr or maybe have an opinion as to why I've been suddenly shut out? I should add that I am not going to continue trying to make contact as I feel it would be a useless endeavor.

I feel like such a fool.:confused:

Ugh, that sucks. Don't feel like a fool, though. **** happens.

Maybe he was a little put-off by you "announcing" that you're coming to visit, instead of trying to make plans with him and asking when would be a good time for him. Maybe it freaked him out a little. It's easy to fantasize about what-ifs (like you visiting him) but when it becomes a reality sometimes it's hard to embrace it, you know?