How do I overcome the old fear (2nd breakup)?

Hello!

I don't know how to start but I guess I'll give you some history about us so please bear with me here as it's my first time posting this topic, seeking some advices. My bf and I met almost two years ago when we both were separated from our exes. Btw, it was our first LDR (long distance relationship). We had great 4 months, keeping in touch and videochatting almost everyday. Something came up that got him to reach the decision of breaking up instead of opting for another alternative. It's a long story but let's say he was very overwhelmed emotionally and mentally by some of the issues his ex imposed on him and he wasn't ready for the next step that he wanted to do earlier with me.