My boyfriend and I have been talking about moving in together for about 4-5 months now. About a month ago, we decided that we would move in together this summer, before school starts. About 2 weeks ago I started applying for jobs in his area, which is about 2 hours from me. I have started getting calls for interviews, and now, he says that we "might be rushing into this"... He says he loves more than ever, and that he really does want to live with me, but his friends and family tell him he's rushing into things, and he doesn't want to make another mistake---so he's thinking that maybe we should wait to move in together.... We've been dating about a year and a half, and we've known one another for almost 5 years... Is it just cold feet? or is it a commitment red flag that i should pay attention to??

Most likely it's a committment thing which is very definitely a red flag. If it's actually influence of his friends and family, that's very definitely a red flag too. You certainly don't need a man who can't make decisions for himself.

Looks like you've boxed yourself into a corner. Now, your decision isn't when to move in with him but when to go look for a man who has a stable mind, who is mature, who keeps his word, and who loves you enough to talk things out with you instead of his buddies.

• Author