Frustrated....neverending long distance.

Hello

I've posted many times about the difficulties I've had with long distance but things are getting a bit more grim. So, the brief backstory is this: My boyfriend lives in California, I live in Boston (3,000 mile distance). We've been doing long distance for 9 months. He had to move there for work- he's an astronomer, so he lives up at an observatory. I am a graduate student, and I still have one more year of school in Boston.

So.... because I have the summer off, I flew out here to spend my 2 months off with him. We rented an apartment together and I had the illusion that we'd be together all the time and everything would be great. Well, I was WRONG. He has to live at the observatory during the week. That means, I am alone ALL week, and then he comes down on the weekends. Well, I have no friends or family or ANYONE here, so I spend most of my time alone.... What really really bothers me is that no matter WHAT we do, because of his job, we will always be doing some kind of long distance, unless he gets another more normal job (9-5 pm kind of thing).