Future friends with benefits

I am 26 year old currently in a long distance relationship for the last one year. My boyfriend and I have been through a lot through his cheating habits in our 5 years of being together. He says he has stopped cheating and wants to get married since last year. I would like to believe that because I have no incidents to hold against him since the last one year. But I can never tell. Maybe he got better at his game.

Anyway I met this guy last week. It seems like I know him forever. We went the following day with a group of friends. He dropped me home and we made out. He seems persistent. Yesterday we all went out again and he told me he just wants to have fun. No commitments whatsoever and he is open to being friends with benefits with me. Which is what I want too. But he says that there is a good chance that I will get too attached and catch feelings because I have had only one partner so far. I have never done this before. So I don't know how this will turn out. We agreed to go to the STI clinic tomorrow.

Just want to know what your opinion is. How did friends with benefits turn out for yall?

All of my FWB scenarios worked out great for us both, and in all cases we've even remained friends when the "benefits" ended for whatever reason.

This is not always the way it works out - and you can find many threads here about FWB gone wrong, particularly when one person ends up wanting more than the other.

I wouldn't expect too much from this arrangement, and you will want to set some ground rules, especially about seeing other people. Normally, there are no restrictions on dating others, as one or both of you may also be seeking a relationship other than FWB.