Girlfriend cheated and left me for the guy she cheated with (3 year relationship)

So, I'm sure this headline has been used many times, but I wanted to share my story in an effort to try and find peace with my break up.

Background:

My ex and I met in November 2011 at college. She was in a PhD program for Psychology and I was an undergrad student (I did military time before school so we were of a similar age despite the fact that she was so much further down her career path than I). We quickly grew close to one another and spent basically all of our time together. She was very attractive, educated, and probably one of the most personable people I've ever met.

I graduated the following spring of 2012 and had to move 6 hours away for my job. We decided to maintain the relationship and do the long distance thing. It was tough for me because she constantly wanted to talk and didn't understand how busy and important the things I had going on were. It caused problems and we would argue about how I never reassured her and I believe she thought I didn't love her. I put her second to my work and despite that she would still travel to see me. When we were together it was always very passionate and wonderful, and my feelings were always strong for her despite the way that I prioritized work over her. She would make cards for me, send me gifts, do thoughtful things all the time for me. I was always wrapped up and stressed out with work that I didn't return the love as much as I should have.

We both have alcohol problems. I am sure that alcohol caused so many of the arguments we would have and I said a lot of mean things to her over the years that I didn't mean. Even still, she loved me.

We mostly saw each other on weekends and holidays. It was like a honeymoon period every time we got to see each other, which is one of the things I did like about being long distance.