Why do cops cheat?

I've been married to a cop for 13 years and recently found out about an affair he had seven years ago. When I started to really look at the situation, I was startled to realize that ALL (one hundred percent, every single one) of his friends, who are also cops, have cheated on or are cheating on their spouse. Most of his co-workers are devorced due to extra-marital affiars. Several female officers are known to have slept with multiple married male officers.

CAN SOMEONE TELL ME WHAT THE DEAL IS?

I'm a software analyst and I work in an office environment. People very occasionally have affairs within the office, but it's nothing like what happens between police officers.

Theory one - males with greater testosterone levels are drawn to this career, and are therefore more likely to cheat due to their hormones. Sounds stupid.

Theory two - the adrenaline rush of the job has an influence on their sex drive, or makes them feel invincilbe? Also sounds stupid.

Theory three - police stress is so great that they need an outlet.

Any other theories out there? I'd love to hear from other cops...

I don't think it has to do with what he does for a living at all! He cheats because that's the type of person he is. A cheater! Whether he's a cop or not has nothing to do with why he cheats or why he does not cheat.

I replied to your other post.

Infidelity in the profession of police happens for a lot of reasons~

1) Bonds are formed that are close, it is the other men/women on the force who have each others back when

or if something happens.

2) Police officers often feel the only people who understand thier stress level or what they are going through

is another officer. So they begin to confide in one another.

3) Opportunity. They are on call, some work nights... excuses to sneak out are easily found and no one

questions it, because after all they are "Just doing thier job" Opportunity to cheat and not get caught