Girlfriend Works With Her Long Distance Ex - He Calls Occasionally

• Author

Okay, so I've been dating my girlfriend for like 6 months now. For the most part it's been great. A little bit of back story would suffice. She's a stylist, and she works on the side for a company that makes a line of hair care products as a product educator...essentially travelling to area salons and training their people on the good things about their product. She does this like once a month. Additionally she is on the artistic team which means that she goes to major hair shows in the midwest (for the most part) to help in the hair show stuff, ie, model calls, etc.

Well, her most recent ex she met while doing work for this outfit, and she may from time to time come into contact with him (maybe once or twice a year) while out of town at one or more of these shows or a sales meeting or something. This guy's older and owns his own salon. (I'm an attorney that met my GF at her salon...I was a VERY GOOD client of hers). Anyway, they were broken up for like 5 months when she started dating me, and we've been together like 6 months. So she's been broken up with this guy for like almost a year. They were together (long distance) for like a year and a half. My problem: He still calls her like once a week...maybe less. Now, call me cynical, but I'm a guy, and I did the "calling the exgirlfriend" bit in the past. She broke it off with him, so while they have mutual interests in their professional lives, I think it's a good bet that he's trying to maintain a relationship with her "just in case". I'm not worried about this guy being "better" nor do I think my GF would cheat on me with him. We're VERY serious about our relationship and spend every spare moment with each other. We're very happy.