Girlfriend dealing with ex-gf: cheating, lying, confusion

I should give a little summary of my situation first:

My boyfriend and I have known each other for 4 years and been together seriously for about 3.5 years now. We are both 27. We have been living tog for the past 3. During the first 15 mos. of knowing each other we were physically in the same town for only 5 mos. We hit it off and knew there was something special, but I graduated and then traveled out of the country for two mos. and then moved back to my home state upon return. A few months later we both realized and accepted the fact that our talking on the phone long distance every day was more meaningful and worth taking seriously. He was still in school in the same town in which we met and he asked me to move to a mt. town w/ him for the winter to work in the snow. I had a hard time leaving the place I was at b/c I was having a great time, but finally realized that I wanted to be with him and that it was important enough for me to sacrifice where I was. I have no regrets about this decision. We established a more serious relationship over the next 3 mos. (we were living tog w/ another couple) and then I left the country again for 3 mos. for an internship and he went back to school for his last term. During that time we emailed almost every day and talked several times. Our emotions were very strong and very intimate/romantic/genuine and we fell in love even harder by being away from each other during that short time. Before my return we had talked about him meeting me overseas to travel for several mos. after he graduated. Unfortunately, he tore his acl and had to have reconstructive surgery so we aborted those plans. Instead, upon my return we moved in together and continued his recup while making plans for a big trip tog. We eventually made that trip for 5 mos. overseas and have been tog in Oregon ever since.