Guilty about making out on the first date...for practice

imstillturningout

imstillturningout

So I’m 25, and I have dated very few people, only seriously dated one, which led to an engagement that I broke off because I didn’t feel ready and wasn’t sure I really loved him that way. It’s been five years since then, and I only went on a few dates with one guy. In short, I have very little experience dating. I’m not sure if I’ll ever really love someone and I’ve got major self-esteem issues, and maybe that’s why I put walls up, but there it is.

Anyways, I’ve only kissed twice, basically just a peck on the lips. Recently, I’ve started to reconsider whether I want a relationship, so I met a guy online, chatted for a couple weeks, and went on a date. Nice, funny, smart guy. Better than I expected, but there wasn’t a strong connection. We were watching a movie, and he cuddled closer and closer until we were suddenly kissing. And I have no right to call it making out because there wasn’t tongue and I had no idea what I was doing, but it was the most physical I’ve ever been. I didn’t like it. Not because I was upset but I honestly think I just don’t like kissing. I’ve had three experiences now and they’ve all been boring and gross. His leg came between mine at one point, and I liked that a lot more than the kissing. Anyways, I did it solely because I don’t have experience and I figured why not get some practice in so I’m better at it?

He’s probably going to expect more on a second date, but that’s on me because I was encouraging the whole time (if he even contacts me, since I was probably a little too loose). I’m more worried that I’ll let things go too far eventually, end up having sex, and regret it, all because I’m curious and damn horny.

I don’t even know how to tldr this situation.