What are his intentions?

Darien 76

Hi everyone:

This is my first time posting here and I could use your thoughts and suggestions about my relationship.

My boyfriend and I have been seeing each other for about 6 yrs now. He is going to be 37 this year and I am 40. He is divorced with no children and I have never been married, no children. Our relationship has had struggles with trust mainly due to his behavior. Examples include secrecy with his cell phone and a relationship with his ex that doesn't have boundaries, for example going to assist her with installing an AC at 2am and also not telling me when he sees her to help her with tasks.

I asked him to put boundaries with his ex and go to help at more appropriate times and he has not been receptive to my feelings. Btw, they have been divorced officially for 3 years and I don't get the impression there is any funny business going on there. He says he helps her because she doesn't have parents or a brother to help and he always used to do these things for her. They were together approx 10 years and married for 4 years.

He suggested that we go to therapy to rebuild trust. The reason trust was lacking is because I would catch him in lies and I felt he wasn't committed to a future together. So I said ok and I located a doctor and on session 2 he decided he wanted to quit therapy because he decided it would not help us. I was very disappointed.

Also, my boyfriend is an atty full time but he is pursuing a career in film production on the side. He does not really include me in what is going on with this. He goes out a lot with his friends drinking until late hours and I am not invited. Some of his good friends I have not met and I am concerned if he is looking to meet someone else by going out this often. He says he isn't.