Dating events in real life (speed dating, singles nights, etc.)

Jejangles

Someone on the online dating thread mentioned it would be fun to have a place to discuss singles events that take place in real life! I thought I could get it started as I have some experience...

I have been to two speed dating events. The first was a little awkward and strange - we are mid 30s and I think the guys for that one were meant to be from mid 30s to late 40s, but most of them seemed to be late 40s to early 50s. The most memorable moment was a creepy Brazilian guy grabbing my leg and giving it a good squeeze. I later found out he had done the same (and more) to my friend! However, I think there was one love connection from that night - we saw one man and woman leave together and head to a nearby Starbucks, so who knows how that ended up! I said no to everyone from that night, so no matches.

The second speed dating event was a little younger, and the guys were more fun to talk to, but I only got a few matches and never heard from any of them... I find the whole speed dating thing a little awkward, it's not really enough time to make much of a connection. This thread is already long, but I'll share a really interesting study I read about speed dating later...

I am going to my first Match.com in person event tonight! I will report back on how it goes.

So - anyone else have experiences to share?

Every time I participated to those events I ended disappointed. Don't ask me how but this one time I found myself in a group of 60 + while I was 40.

Sometimes those events were full of people drinking and acting like pervs.

Sometimes we were 20 women and 3 men.

It just never worked for me. I did much better online where I can aim at men that are more suitable for me.

Doesn't mean it won't work for you.

• Author
Every time I participated to those events I ended disappointed. Don't ask me how but this one time I found myself in a group of 60 + while I was 40.