He's being more attentive towards me yet hasn't made things official

misty1114

I've been going out with a 23-yo guy for the past 3 months. He used to text me every 2-3 days to set up dates. No phone calls in between. He always takes a long time to reply to a text (sometimes over 24 hours), even when he's the one to initiate the convo. We haven't had much physical contact besides just pecks at the end of the date. We've made out a couple of times but that's all. He seems pretty inexperienced as he said he's never been in a LTR. He told me he's only seeing me right now and he likes me but when I brought up if he wanted to be official, he said he's not ready and would like to continue to spend more time with me and see if he can juggle a gf and school at the same time. I told him that I believe if he was truly into me, he'd make the time and make the relationship work. I'm not the type to demand attention from him 24/7. I'm a busy student too and I'm fine with how often we've been seeing each other (about once/week). However, I'd like to hear from him more often in between dates (ie. calls and texts). I also told him how I've noticed he doesn't reply to text promptly. I said I'd continue to see him for now without putting pressure or rushing him to commit, but at the same time I'm keeping my expectations low and I'd stop seeing him if I get too emotionally invested.

Since then, he's been way more attentive and been calling/texting me everyday. Yet still hasn't tried to make things official. Do you think he truly likes me and wants to make the relationship work or is just afraid to lose me? He hasn't pushed for sex at all so I don't think his motive is to be a fwb.

Edited by misty1114

You need to be dating other people. This guy is lukewarm and is very unlikely to want a relationship with you. Please don't invest in this one person who isn't investing in you. Go out and meet and get to know other guys.

• Like 2