24 year old male and 17 year old girl in love -- nothing physical till she's 18.

thisismenow

thisismenow

I am an international grad student in a prestigious US university. To blow off steam after an assignment, I went online on a website that lets strangers around the world do a text chat and met a Latina girl there. She lives in Mexico. Initially, on chat, she told me she's 19. So we started talking and we both liked each other since we both have the same interests and thoughts. Our talks were strictly non-sexual, about general things in life. Then, we both started to like like each other and one morning, after a week of having met here, she told me: "I can't do this to you anymore, I'm actually 17 years and 11 months. I will be 18 in a month".

I got a little upset and confused. I'm an adult and she's not... well, she's 17 years and 11 months so she's almost an adult, but technically she's not. I have strong ethics and wanted to stop talking but she pleaded that it's only a month. So, I finally gave in and I'm still talking to her. She told me she loved me over a voice note one day and I said it back -- because I really do.

We have decided to meet in the USA after one entire year of staying in conversation online. By then, she will be 19. And of course, there's no possibility of any sexual or physical contact between us during this time.

Facts:

• I'm an international grad student in the USA.
  • She's in Mexico.
  • There's no possibility of any physical contact.
  • We will meet for the first time after 1 year, when she will be 19. She will come to the USA where I study.

Now, legally, is there a problem that I said 'I love you' to a 17 year 11 month old girl and have been in a distant relationship with her? Any chances of me getting in trouble when she finally meets me in the USA after 1 year (when she's 19), since our relationship began when she was 17 years and 11 months?