Texted a girl, and she didn't get back to me. Texted her again and she did

I'm new to dating despite being a month away from 30. I had my first relationship late in my 20's but that ended in December.

So anyway, I went on my first real "date" about two weeks ago. With my first girlfriend I didn't have dating pressures, and all that. The day after the date, the girl texted me she had a good time. I texted back saying I had been a little shy, and she said she had a good time again, and that it was fine. Two days later I told her I'd like to take her out again, and to "let me know" (what she thinks, when she's available, etc). About five days went by and no response.

After 5 days, I texted a specific time and place when I think we should grab some food and drinks, and a minute later she texted back "That would be nice." I texted back saying "Great! Sounds like a plan!" She texted back a smiley, and I responded to her smiley with a smiley.

So anyway, a pretty simple conversation and now we're meeting up again apparently, assuming she doesn't cancel.

What the **** just happened?

d0nnivain

I'd like you to take you out again is akin to the old "I'll call you". Women correct interpret it as a throw away line the other person doesn't really mean because it is not specific. When you got specific -- date, time, place -- you got a quick enthusiastic response.

Have fun on your date & stop texting. Start talking.

introverted1

Your first text was too vague and put her in the awkward position of not knowing whether you were letting her down gently or asking her to arrange a second date. When you followed up with a plan, she had something to actually respond to, and did.

Enjoy your date! Sounds promising.

• Author

Thanks, guys!

Yeah, that's probably it. I feel foolish now for thinking about her so much the past week. I really needed to accept he may have liked me and asked her out again in a better fashion. I can see it better from her point of view.