dating and parents (meeting BFs parents, telling my parents about BF)

MissTrudy

Two things here that I need advice on.

1. I am meeting my BF's parents this weekend when they come to town. I've never met a BF's parents and I don't know what to expect at all so I am nervous. Plus I can be kind of quiet around new people and I worry that I will come off as standoffish. Any ideas on what to expect? anything? I know that I need to be myself and relax and not overthink it, but it's hard to do that because I have no experience in this realm. :lmao:

2. I haven't told my family that I have a BF, and as far as they know when I tell them, he is my first BF. I was really scared to tell them at first because they're super protective but I don't want to hold back anymore because I really care about him and I feel like we're serious about each other. I tried to tell my mom the other day but she just kept talking about random crap I couldn't get a word in. I could tell my grandma first who is a better listener but it might startle her and I think it will piss off my mom to know that she didn't hear it first (she already thinks that I like my grandma more than her, which isn't unfounded because I consider my grandma to be one of my best friends). At this point I want to text my mom a picture of the two of us together and when she asks, who is that, tell her it's my BF. but I know that probably isn't the best way to do it. She lives in a different part of the country from me btw so I can't tell her face-to-face anytime soon.

• Author
Seems like you try to please everyone at the same time.

I've learn this about life.

That never works

???