Controlling your feelings...?

lowthoughts

lowthoughts

Just a heads up...this is going to be pretty lengthy. I'm going through a tough time in my relationship and really need some outside advice and I stumbled upon these boards....so hopefully someone will be able to give me some words of wisdom.

Anyways...my girlfriend and I have been dating for about 5 months now. We're seniors in college and have had our share of relationships before this one. We started out as friends and knew each other for a few years before we began dating.

Early on in our relationship, I knew this girl was special. Everything felt different than anything I've ever felt before. I was falling for her quickly and looking at everything now, this is my first time truly being in love. And before you criticize me, because I know you will, just know that the longer I waited, the more I couldn't contain myself anymore.

Yea, I dropped the "I love you" bomb just over a month into our relationship. I told her it was fine for her to not say it back until she was ready and she didn't. She waited about a month before she said it, only to take it back about 2 weeks later.

That hurt, but I told her it was ok and I wanted her to be ready to say it. She explained that she just wasn't ready yet and felt bad that I loved her. Also, she had been significantly hurt a little over a year ago when she thought she was in love with one of her ex's. She admitted to me that this has caused her put walls up and is scared of love, but also said she thinks that can change one day and those walls can be taken down.

Anyways, so it's now been about 4 months since I said I love you to her, but I never, ever pressure her about the subject or even bring it up. I never say I love you, nothing like that. A month ago we inadvertently got into a discussion about the topic and it wasn't fun, but we talked it out and ended up walking out just fine.