Losing Attraction for Boyfriend, Committed to Regaining It

TeeJay

Hi all,

This is my first time posting. I am 26 have been dating (pretty intensely) a guy for over a year, and moved in 2 months ago. We are both "old souls." During this year I have been through some bumps in the road and he has been very emotionally supportive. There are so many wonderful things that I love about him and have looked for in a mate.

I am the breadwinner between the 2 of us, but necessarily the smarter or more able one. I am driven, I have a good career and I am going to school to further it. He wants to be a writer, and went to undergrad for writing, but has not submitted or published anything, and is in a state of editing. To (just barely) make ends meet he works a low-paying retail job. He admittedly isn't great at sales because he lacks certain people skills and the store he is at is higher end. The fact that his social skills are behind didn't bother me as much at first, but I have to admit its not attractive.

Over the last year as we became more closely partnered, I feel as if I have been taking more and more care of him and us, financially and just with life-logistics. Though he brought up and asks me about things like moving in, and other things, I am the one who sees it through. I started paying for things (now everything) because he has no wiggle room in his budget, and when we moved in together, we pay equal percentage of our paycheck to rent. I make double what he makes, so I pay about 2x as much. Its nothing fancy either. Although we make equal amounts of sacrifice, I still get to feeling that we are in an unequal partnership.

As this has continued, I started to lose that rosy-eyed glow I had for him, and I have had less and less desire to be intimate.