I am a woman, rejected on 3 first dates in a row

calendula74

calendula74

Hi Everyone!

I am feeling disheartened and ready to give up online dating...

When I first signed up I was pretty excited and ready to do some fun and work, but now I am starting to loose confidence.

Would love to hear some opinions and feed back on this! I am sort of at loss about this...I tired googling rejection on first dates, but most of the post that came up were either written by a men or advice for men, which makes me think that men struggle with this issue more often, maybe?

So here is my story: I am a 36 year old professional female with a good life, full time job, nice place and many outside of work interests. In the past was in two long term relationships, I guess that makes me a serial monogamist :p, but not a big pro on casual dating.

I signed up for a free online dating website about 2 months ago.

I feel like I put a lot of effort in my profile and posted good pictures. I had 2 male and 1 female friend proof read it.

I have been getting about 2 emails per week. I keep hearing about women on these website getting bombarded by emails, not in my case.

But regardless, I chatted with a number of people and returned reasonable emails. I did not reply to "hey babe or wanna get a drink" first emails. To be proactive, I have also sent out a number of initial emails too.

First I chatted with a guy who was 39, 3 years older than me and a widow. He seemed intelligent, many common interests and looked handsome on the photos. So we exchanged about 5-6 emails and agreed to meet up at a museum after work.

When he showed up he had not much to say and he seemed really awkward. I figured he was nervous (I was too) so just tried to make conversation to put him to ease and chose things to talk about that were not too heavy.