Multidating tangle

daphne

I have a date set up for tonight with a guy that asked me out last weekend. My #1 came into town, and just asked to go out tonight.

I'm not good at this, but I'm thinking it would be rude to blow off or reschedule a guy that asked well ahead of time for a guy that I prefer who is a little bit last minute. But then again, he normally works so he didn't know until probably recently that he'd have time off.

This is probably why I haven't multi-dated in the past.

What would you do?

My gut tells me that you should keep your date and tell your #1 guy you have plans. Being too available for someone who makes last minute plans sets a bad precedent. If #1 guy doesn't set up a date with you at another time, then you know he wasn't worth your time anyway.

MorningCoffee
I would honor your original commitment and make plans with your number one for the next night. It just shows good character on yourself and remember what goes around comes around - you wouldn't want anyone to treat you like that, would you?

Speaking as a guy, if I were either one of your two guys, this bolded is the choice I'd receive the most favorably.

Untouchable_Fire
I have a date set up for tonight with a guy that asked me out last weekend. My #1 came into town, and just asked to go out tonight.

I'm not good at this, but I'm thinking it would be rude to blow off or reschedule a guy that asked well ahead of time for a guy that I prefer who is a little bit last minute. But then again, he normally works so he didn't know until probably recently that he'd have time off.

What would you do?

Exclusive or not... If you blew me off to date someone else, I would be done with you. Unless you were upfront that you already had plans with another guy. I can respect that kind of honesty.

• Author