Am I just a friend or is there potential?

JAJ

Hey all, this is my first post here. I found it trying to google similar problems and I liked most all of what I read. I'll try to make it short but if you need anything else I can let you know.

I have known this girl for around seven years. Up until about a year ago we never talked to each other much. In high school we'd talk in passing and she was dating a friend of mine back then so I'd chat with her if I was talking to him. After I graduated I never talked to her much, maybe like once or twice per year at most in a text or on Facebook. About a year ago I started talking to her and we talked a lot. She mentioned at one point she broke up with her high school sweetheart and then we kept talking. I was out of state for several more months to come but she always said we should hang out and sent me messages or texts saying "hurry home!"

When I got back home she was in town for a couple days, she goes to school a couple hours away, and invited me to hang out with her and a few of her friends. When I got there she gave me a hug and when I left she gave me another. The next time we hung out we went to lunch. I picked her up but she didn't let me pay for her. We talked for a couple hours until she said she hated to cut it short but had to be somewhere else soon so I took her there and dropped her off. On the way she said it was a lot of fun and we should hang out again sometime. She also said that I'm a lot different than what she remembers that I'm more mature.