Suddenly stopped talking

aroll32

Hi, I am a freshman in college and recently had a thing with this girl. We started talking over Christmas break, around the beginning of December. We texted every day throughout the break. I met her last summer and she seemed really cool and I felt some sort of connection with her since then. We saw each other randomly throughout last semester but very little. So during the break I started seeing her a lot more. Eventually I asked her on a date. It went well, so then after me offering to bring her something to eat after she got her wisdom teeth out, she asked me to go see a movie with her. That went well too. So she came over a couple times and even slept over one night.

A couple weeks ago, when she moved back into her dorms and such she stopped talking to me as much, and even apologized for being indecisive and flaky. So, after so unnecessary over analyzations, I eventually got up the nerve to ask her what she wanted. She told me she wanted to talk over the semester and see what happens over the breaks and next summer. I go to school about an hour away from her.

Recently, she stopped calling and texting. I haven't called in a while because the last time I did, she didn't answer and still hasn't called back. The last time I talked to her on the phone was over a week ago.

What is the deal? I know she doesn't want a relationship and neither do I, but why just stop talking to me altogether? I really haven't done anything to overwhelm her other than telling her I really like her. Is this normal?

It's quite normal. Sounds like you were a Christmas-break fling and nothing more. If neither of y'all want a relationship, then what's the point of keeping in touch? It'll just complicate things.

• Author