Breakthrough!!

FIREMAN

After over 3 years of my GF running from me everytime we get close, she finally revealed to me last night WHY she does this!! I think it's a HUGE breakthrough for us, as we can now work on making it better. I'm a firefighter and she's scared that something can happen to me and she'll be left alone. Her dad was in the WTC on 9-11, but survived. She can't forget the feeling she had that day not knowing if he was alive or dead. She doesn't want to go thru that with me too. I told her I could work in an office and get hit by a car going to work, etc. Anything could happen and we have no say in when or how we die. She refuses to go to a doc for therapy (which she should prob get). What a relief to finally know what's bothering her! Hopefully things get better from here! Anything else I can say to set her at ease?

SoulSearch_CO

Wow. That's going to be really hard to get past. Especially since it's not a general fear of losing you - this is tied to something in her past. That's terrifying about her dad - I'm so glad he got out. I can't even begin to imagine the pain of that remembered fear. :( I really think a counselor could even help just YOU to know what reassuring words to give her. But a cheesy line from a movie scratches the surface: A life lived in fear is a life half-lived.