How to help my mother make friends?

HiCrunchy

My mother doesn't really have may friends. She is retired early because of a medical condition and doesn't have much contact outside of the house other than going to church once a week.

I want to help her make friends because I don't want her to feel lonely.

I was thinking about having her volunteer but she isn't very mobile and isn't into technology so meetup.com isn't something she would be comfortable doing.

What are some good volunteering options for people that can't stand for long periods of time or travel very far?

It puts a lot of pressure on me to one of her only forms of human interaction (while I love my mother, I also want to build a friend group my own age, which is hard since I graduated.)

Any advice?

It’s sweet that you’re showing concern for your mom but do you think she’s feeling lonely? What does she like to do?

There must be some women's groups at church, if she is interested.

What does she enjoy - cooking, knitting, quilting, cards...

How old is your mother. Often there are groups for 55+ that are great opportunities for those who are isolated to get out and socialize. Look for an age and opportunity centre or community centre.

• Author

Yes I love my mother very much.

So my sister and I have gotten her into knitting which I think is better than her just watching youtube videos alone all day.

She mostly likes church. I have asked her if there is anything that interests her and she told me she doesn't find anything interesting.

I told her if she doesn't tell me about something she finds interesting that I am going to get her a dog...It would at least give her something to do and give her affection. But I don't wanna force her to take care of something either and that doesn't replace human interaction.

I know she misses working (the social part) because she mentioned it once.