What's a good way to branch out and become more social?

NightRogue

I am a 19 year old student in uni and I need advice on becoming more social. Normally, I'm pretty quiet and introverted and not that outgoing tbh. So far, I have like 3 friends at Uni and they are part of a larger social group which I am not, and they tend to hang out and do things together. I don't want to spend my time alone or aloof, but maybe I guess I feel somewhat intimidated by the fact that they have their own group and I don't. I want to be more social but I don't want to force myself or shoehorn myself into a group they already have. So what's the best way to become more social.

There should be a student services at your uni or college who organise social things, such as movies, days out or weekends away. It is a good way to meet people.

Contact your college student services or whatever they call it, Student Union. Go talk to them about volunteer opportunities around campus. You'll likely end up working with a group of other people part of the time and get to know them and they may have you helping with things around events. Keep an eye on the job postings around the University. Sometimes they have ones that are only once in awhile that most people could make time for. For example when I was in college I worked some of the ball games in the concession areas.

Be sure you have a class that has a lab type setting where you're working with other people. And don't neglect to take art or music classes because those are more Interactive.