Finding Platonic Opposite-Gender Friendships

Wave Rider

So I'm a guy, and I've done alright with friendships with other men. I usually don't make a large number of close male friends - typically only one or two at a time. But they are good friends, and they are supportive, and they do stick around for me.

But my romantic relationships with women don't last more than a few months, and I always end up getting dumped. So I'm actually considering trying to be platonic friends with a few women, just to see what it's like. To date, the only platonic friendships I've had with women I never dated tended to be therapist-type relationships, where she was my therapist or we were each other's therapist.

I'm not sure how to find female friendships that feel natural and organic rather than forced. I am a graduate student in physics, and I do research in a physics lab all day, and I interact with exactly zero women in the course of my normal daily activities. My hobbies are virtually all male: physics and astronomy (90% men), weightlifting (90% men), surfing (90% men), and radio controlled airplanes and FPV drones (99% men). I'm just not going to meet any women, even for friendship, in the course of my normal work and hobby activities.

I could meet women for friendship at swing dancing, but if I'm there to meet women and not to dance, it's going to feel artificial and forced.

Any recommendations on how to find female platonic friends?

You make friends by doing your interests. i guess you have to be careful not to crap where you eat maybe with the swing dancing? Seems like a good place to meet women to me.

• Like 2