A truly ridiculous idea

Undoubtedly this should provide some with ample entertainment and that's fine!

The closest I have ever come to having a gf is a California based pen pal I have been chatting to for the last 6 years so, met her on a forum, we have a common interests (its no moaning and moping if anyone was wondering).

We communicate fairly often, its very much friend type stuff which is great but I am at the stage where I am curious to meet her in person.

Realistically its a bad idea for many reasons but the big reason is what I call the Cinderella syndrome, you try the shoe on and you like it but then you need to give it back.

Being a bad idea and being an accountant I am toying with the idea, at the moment its really nice to have someone to communicate with on this friend like basis, the risk is I go and meet her and I loose that communication or I end up liking her too much (I have seen pictures of her)

I guess this says more about me that I cant find anyone in SA... ;)

Michelle ma Belle

Have you discussed this idea with the girl or is this just your inner monologue?

Personally, I prefer to live by the motto nothing ventured nothing gained.

Yes, you run the risk that what you have online doesn't quite work in real life. Six years of continuous communication is a lot to lose and will no doubt leave a huge void in your life.

At the same time if you're at this point where you're constantly wondering about all the what if's with this girl it may (if it hasn't already) prevent you from truly putting yourself out there and finding someone closer to home.

Good luck.

Why is it a risk to meet a friend in person? It's one sleep and lunch. My apologies for Cali being on fire right now but it's a drought. Enjoy your flight.

(And yes, I've done this many times over the last three decades, including men, women, even LS 'friends'). Life is to be lived. Do friendships change and end? Sure! All part of life.

• Like 1

Do you Skype?