Envious friend goes completely crazy

Hi all, I'd really appreciate some advice on some issues I feel have come up between me and a good friend of mine.

My friend and I have been studying for the same degree at university since 2010. We've supported each other through all the deadlines and stress of student life, and have been very close for a number of years.

Trouble is, my friend takes it very, very personally when things don't go his way - for example, after more than two years he's still literally obsessed with hating a lecturer who gave him a B+ instead of an A- for an essay on the MA. When we graduated from the MA, I got a first honors, but my friend didn't. He was very upset about this, which in itself was fair enough, but he started taking it out on me, sneeringly referring to me as 'Little Miss First' and making dismissive comments about my topic and 'how easy I have it'. I decided to cut him some slack, since I knew how hurt he really was.

This year, we both applied for a scholarship to help pay for our studies. The process of applying is extremely stressful and demanding, and there are nowhere near enough scholarships to go around. I'd been rejected for it once before, but this year I got it. My friend didn't. I feel like this has really sent him into a tailspin of envy and resentment. I would never dream of bragging about this, but I'm hurt that all he managed was one small 'congrats' - before launching into rants about how the people awarding the scholarships are corrupt idiots who don't see the value of *his* research, how he'd actually hate working with these barbarians, how unfairly everyone treats him, and how easy it is for everyone else. He almost makes me feel like I should apologize for getting the first and the scholarship, since he acts like I did it only to spite him and that I somehow got it without *really* deserving it.