You think you know someone...

About a month ago I moved from a small town in the Midwest to the east coast--I am temp staying with my best friend, let's call her X, from college--we both attended a large east coast university, she graduated and I had originally dropped out (2 classes shy) and finally finished up this past year. I am now working as a paralegal, I recently completed a certificate program out in the Midwest which I could afford and was also ABA approved.

I dropped out for various reasons, but one of them was I could not handle school--yeah, I know, it took me till my senior year to discover this, I was having some emotional issues that I was choosing not to deal with and things built up so much that I think I kind of had some kind of brain meltdown/nervous breakdown, things were getting so bad that I would sometimes just in the middle of doing whatever, I would blank out and just start to freak out, I could be in the middle of giving a speech and suddenly forget what I was doing--my therapist said I had post traumatic stress disorder.

I consider myself to be a reasonably intelligent person but I was not disciplined in school, and that really screwed me up. Now I am quite amazed at how much more disciplined I am and how I can stay on a task and really concentrate. But I think that happened because I worked for a couple of years at a low paying but demanding job that made me learn to multi-task.