My friend

I have this friend that I've known since we were about 4 or 5 years old (we are both 20 now). Not my best friend, but my oldest for sure. His whole life he's made some silly decisions regarding girls (not that I'm an expert in that field or anything). When he meets a new girl, she becomes his life. Anyways though, last summer, he met this girl that I work with. He spent all his time with her, forgetting about the rest of us, his other friends. I have talked to the aformentioned girl about it, and she is not romantically, or sexually attracted to him at all. Anyways, he would stay at her house until 4 in the morning, sometimes later, even if he had to work at 7 AM the next day. She is a few years older than us, and she also lived with her parents. Needless to say, his parents became quite concerned (they thought he was having sex with this girl - - - they have never even so much as made out). So fall time rolls around, and we're back in school (we both attended the local college). I had him in one of my classes last semester. He began skipping class left and right just to be with her. On the weekends, he would be driving her home from the bar (she drinks quite a bit). Anyways, he ended up failing every single class last semester (he never told me this, I found out from his mother). His parents had had enough. They decided to kick him out. So he and this girl, they got an apartment together. Now because of this, he can't even afford to go to college anymore. Has she ever given a care about any of this? If she really cared about him, she wouldn't have let him mess himself up like this.

My friends and I have given up on our friend, we feel that he has gone beyond the point of no return. Why is he spending so much time and money and basically ruining his life over a girl whom he can never have?

YOU ASK: "Why is he spending so much time and money and basically ruining his life over a girl whom he can never have?"