not sure how to handle situation!

I work in a shop and I've had a bit of trouble with one of the guys (let's call him simon) I work with with over the last few months- it's quite a long so please bear with me!

When he started work at the shop last May (he got the job because his friend is the manager), there were about 6 girls working there and just 3 guys. About 4 of the girls had a problem with him immediately because they said he made them feel uncomfortable (i.e. talking about his past sexual relationships etc). Myself and one of the other girls, who are a bit older than everyone else, gave him a chance because it seems like his "past relationships" were fabricated and he seemed like a nice enough bloke just a bit insecure. our manager confirmed that the gf's were probably fabricated saying that he had known simon for years but had never known him to have a girlfriend. Anyway, I decided to give him a chance, and we actually got on quite well.

The trouble started when I went out for a drink with him after work. I thought it was just a drink as friends. He had made a pass at me where he had said something along the lines that he knew he didn't have a chance but he thought I was really attractive and thought that we got on really well and could have a relationship. I let him down gently saying that I thought he was a nice person and got on well with him but that he wasn't my type and that wouldn't change. Things seemed ok and we were still friends after that. I went out with him again, making it clear it was as friends. However I found out from the other girls that he had been saying that we had gone out on a couple dates. I was so annoyed with him and backed off completely. Got on ok with him at work but said no when he asked me out.

By october/november 5 of the girls had left, all citing that he was a factor why they didn't want to stay and one of them, B, had basically been pushed out when our manager had unjustifiably backed simon in a situation.