How to take this next step?

JustGettingBy

My work is promoting me to a full-time position in July (still working in housekeeping/janitorial work, but at least I'll be working 40 hours per week, so yay). One of the rooms I'll be cleaning is the marketing and communications office (my field of study, and the department seems to hire an average of one person a year based on how frequently I see postings). This is obviously a very good opportunity, but I need to play my cards right. Would it be taboo to casually raise the topic that this is what I studied? Of course, unless an opportunity pops up, I'll wait to raise the topic until after I've been cleaning that office for a couple of months and people have gotten to know me.

(my field of study, and the department seems to hire an average of one person a year based on how frequently I see postings).

I don't think it would hurt to express your interest, but the obvious approach would be to apply as that position is posted.

Besides your educational background, do you have work experience in the specific field?

Mr. Lucky

• Author
JustGettingBy
I don't think it would hurt to express your interest, but the obvious approach would be to apply as that position is posted.

Besides your educational background, do you have work experience in the specific field?

Mr. Lucky

I have over 4 years of experience which is a combination of volunteering, internships (both paid and unpaid), freelance work, seasonal part-time work and certifications gotten outside of school.

Take every "water cooler" opportunity that you can. Don't be pushy, but have casual conversations about how their day is going, ask about their work, etc.

Build that rapport over time, show your interest in the field and the company. And yes, it is okay to express interest in any openings coming up. Make sure to get to know at least a few of the people in managerial roles, as they will be the ones making hiring decisions.

• Like 1