How can I work at a computer all day for profit?

So I am wondering whether I have made a gross mistake by coming here and placing my trust in a site that is clearly for ladies and bulls to hook up as in ancient times. I have yet to meet a Minotaur, good job I have string lol I am curious as to how to proceed to work as a (male) freelance consultant for the civil service.

It is obvious that such jobs exist. But what are the requirements? Serious replies only. CV upon request.

Thank you.

Edited by a LoveShack.org Moderator
Edit typo in title; fix spacing; add paragraphs
  • Author

So it occurs to me that the most profitable job which involves sitting at a computer all day is programming.

I have some experience programming, mostly as a hobby from my youth, in Fortran and QBASIC, starting off with Sinclair Spectrum BASIC back in the days of tape drives, so I know what it involves, but have never really been any good at it.

Actually writing a program to meet the requirements of a specific problem is something that I have long struggled with, and unlike in maths, you can't prove things by contradiction in programming.

Diagnostics, on the other hand, is something that I am good at, since that is all about proof by contradiction.

I wonder if anyone can tell me what experiences they have had with working with people in either a programming environment or a diagnostics environment, and would they recommend either?

Thank you.

I'm a software developer, programming is what I do all day. The barrier to entry in terms of qualifications and experience is pretty high, so unless you're dead set on it, I'd explore other options.